Reflective summary

Looking back at my final major project I, personally, feel like I have accomplished a good quality of work and research. As this has been a subject that I have always been interested in and not worked with in a while I have enjoyed going back and looking into family photography and being able to focus my photography around Joe has really encouraged me to see what I like most about photography.

I have discovered many new practitioners that work within family photography which has given me a chance to look at and see how others see family photography, the artists that I have researched have really helped in the development of my project because I was able to see what aspects of family photography that I like and that I don’t like.

I have been really happy with feedback through out the project, mainly on how to present my work in the exhibition because my initial ideas of presentation were good but I am happy that I have been able to show a large quantity of my work. I had a lot of images of Joe from this project and was finding it really difficult having to edit them down and pick 6/8 images but the ideas I got from feedback gave me the opportunity to showcase a lot more of my images therefore I didn’t have to pick and choose between my favorite images.

There wasn’t too many problems that occurred during my project, my main difficulty was the mounting. I found it hard getting the measurements correct and figuring out how much space/how many images I was going to be able to use. With a little help and focus in the end I was able to work out the best way for my images to be presented and the mounting became a lot easier. I was also struggling on how the final piece would look when it wasn’t on the wall as I feel that it won’t be a completed piece until it is mounted and screwed to the wall, but when laid out on the floor with all components together I was able to see how it will potentially look and I am really happy with the final piece.

I feel this project could easily continue in the future and it is definitly something I would like to carry on with. Joe has been a big focus within my photography and I hope in the future I can do similar projects like this which will show a progress of not only my photography work but also show the progression and development of Joe, which I feel will be a really interesting aspect for both myself and Joe to look back on.

I have thoroughly enjoyed working on this project and really feel like I have come along way with it. I hope that my project is appreciated at the exhibition and that people take an interest in my work and also an interest in Joe.

This entry was posted in 352 MC Professional photographic practice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment